top of page
  • Writer's pictureSophia "Inday" Pascual

Mr. Oscar (Teachers Observation)

Updated: Sep 29, 2018



When people uses Mr. to approach someone, it usually brings the connotation of someone to be highly recognized, and difficult to reach. Fortunately, I witnessed the break of that connotation. I have fully understood that bringing the character with a title of "Mr." depends on the person carrying it. Yes, possibly, most people called as Mr. viewed it as a position that can be boasted and used to instill so much power and authority. What I have learned, having a Mr. in a name would mean authority but it does not just stop there, because what is more important is the warmth you bring for the people who recognizes you as one. And in this blog, I would like to introduce to you the Mr. who broke the negative connotation among Mr.'s, my homeroom teacher (cooperating teacher) in Kidsville, handling a Kindergarten 2 grade level.


Mr. Oscar is a teacher for over 20 years including his experiences outside Kidsville. I admire how much he does his routines throughout the day that is smoothly transitioned from one activity to another. This reflects his efficiency and expertise in creating his lesson plans that is weekly made depending on the weekly theme. There was a time that I had to ask for a template for the fourth week's theme and lessons, and what he provided me is the lesson plan (weekly planner) he did with which I only expected bullet forms of theme and lessons to teach. I have observed that he does his weekly planner ahead of time which is also a proof and the secret of the smooth way of executing his activities. That is a good point to learn from Mr. Oscar, to be prepared ahead of time and that would only mean to adjust after if needed. However, Mr. Oscar usually prepares the materials and activities for the day, early in the morning. I have seen him going up and down from the classroom to the computer laboratory or storage room in preparing the printed materials, tools, artwork materials, LEGO Blocks, and the like. On the first week, I find it difficult coping because of the limited time of preparation of materials in my mindset, as a person who prepares materials one or two days before it is to be used, but what amazes me a lot is his skill to gather everything before the class starts. I have learned that it would mean creativity, focus, and the accuracy of doing it.


If I were to mention in just a sentence how Mr. Oscar teaches, it would be this, "Teaching is a natural expression of art to him." He is enjoying and at the same time being passionate to help and guide future leaders and future mature citizens of Indonesia. He uses strategies that are commonly used in a classroom to get the motivation of the students like, singing, dancing, hand gestures, clapping, and calling of attention through names. But what makes him really effective and efficient that is different among other teachers is his presence. As what I have mentioned in the introduction, he brought warmth in his students. He is a very approachable teacher which also instilled in the minds of students that he can be trusted. He is a good moderator for students who are quiet, and to those outspoken. When he teaches, he is very focused. He knows how to ignore some stories yet still show a listening gesture and care. When he teaches, people might find it simple because he does not use so much materials and examples yet he knows how to emphasize on certain points where his students are not familiar yet. When he teaches, he makes sure to create the necessary way of monitoring their progress and improvement through worksheets, activities, oral recitation or lecture participation either individual or group participation.


Mr. Oscar is very close to his students. One of the things that I cannot forget that he said is, "It is important to be with your students." It spoke a thousand meanings when I heard that. He seems to tell me that, I must always observe them, or I should know how to support their ideas, or I should always be present for them, or it is a part of our job to fully know them, or to simply be with them. After realizing this, I have viewed Mr. Oscar as a father to his students, that this is his way of teaching them that is important to establish before feeding their cognitive, affective, and psychomotor domains.


Knowing Mr. Oscar is a great opportunity already, but working with him is an honor.


7 views0 comments
bottom of page