top of page
  • Writer's pictureSophia "Inday" Pascual

Newborn Baby

Updated: Sep 29, 2018


New place, new day, new faces. Being new in this country is hard, for everything has to change, even the time had it's contribution. But being new is always just in the start for the coming of tomorrow makes you surpass the freshness of new, you are about to be a part of it now.


My first day felt like a new born baby. First time to breathe the air, to see the places, to adjust to unknown words, and to whine from the inside. Trust versus Mistrust has lived in me once again. The question of who to trust in translating words, who to trust to be with, and what to trust in a new phase of this month. But just like how a new born baby is welcomed by the people whom he will soon know how to call as a family, I also did. These new people, mentors, coordinators, co-participants, deans, and professors warmly welcomed me. I am new to them just like how they are to me but I am amazed with the fact that it felt so light and easy to get along. Grateful to the new people in my sojourn, yes, temporary stay but these people will never fade away. I came to understand that in this new face of life, I gained a new family.


Today was filled with orientations such as for the SEAMEO, and for the culture. Filled with new information to apply for the next coming days. This has also kept me feel excited to what our tomorrow will bring us. The joy to experience life in a different country, of different nationality, of different language, but of the same thing to do, to teach.


This is just the start of what is new. It is humbling to see that by the next time I read this again, it is already old yet would always bring the freshness it has from the very start.


Yours Truly, Inday


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page