top of page
  • Writer's pictureSophia "Inday" Pascual

First Day's Butterflies

Updated: Sep 29, 2018


First day of school has brought butterflies in my stomach every single time that I have to go through it. Now, I am stepping into my first day in school as an intern. Together with butterflies, all the other flies unites in my stomach, trying to eat me up and pull me away. I may not know how I managed to push myself despite a strong pull but I am glad to see myself entering a school in a new character, no longer a student, but the teacher. Meeting my classmates turned into meeting my co-teachers. Doing my assignments turned to doing my lesson plans. Reviewing for my quizzes turned to reviewing my lessons to teach. It all changed but one thing remains, the school. School is really a second home. I thought it would only be for learning, growing, and creating memories, but as for me it occupied my entire life for after being in school, school is where I will go again.


Butterflies in the stomach would usually connotes the meaning of weakness that is pulling you away from what you to desire to do but as for me, butterflies in the stomach are needed for you to see the butterflies (beauty) you dream to come true. In short, butterflies in the stomach is a blessing in disguise.


For my first butterfly, Kidsville. By the time I knew that this would be the school I'll be attending for a month, I was so excited that I made the necessary research or they informally call as stalking. My excitement is also filled with fear of not knowing anything which is why I took time to know the place by picture, know the population of the school, and the like. This school had in me the impression of, heaven. This is a place I know that I can breathe and enjoy teaching. It almost pulled me away but I am glad I have reached every corner of this school.


The second butterfly, co-teachers. Meeting your new and old classmates was one of my most favorite part of going through my first day in school. Now that it had changed, it brought fear for it is no longer just a moment of knowing them and making good friends. I am already meeting people of different age, different experience in the same field that I am only about to start doing. But since it is a butterfly, my fear turned into the joy of looking forward to meet them again tomorrow. They have welcomed the amateur teacher in me. Working with them is just like playing hide and seek, tag playing, or hopscotch. In short, it's enjoying.


Now, my most awaited butterfly, the students. This has been the big leap from being just a student and now an intern. I am meeting the character from where I was before, the students. I fully know and memorized how it is to be a student but I wonder why it seems so hard for me to figure out the reason for having the fear of meeting them despite the fact that I have been in the same shoes as they are for almost the entire years of my life. Of course, I did find the answer to this question. I may be a student for several years but certainly, they are different. To be honest, this is my most favorite butterfly in my first day because they are my reason for pursuing this program, to be part of their life and for them to be part of mine.


Butterflies really created a huge part of my life. They were there from the very beginning up until now. What more butterflies can I discover again in this sojourn? I am excited to find out and to keep them.


Yours Truly, Inday


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page